New coop construction


chicks 2I purchased new chicks two weeks ago with the understanding that I needed to get going on the new chicken coop but I have been so consumed with real estate school that I had not started the project.  I passed the State licensing exam on Tuesday and I received my real estate license yesterday so now the learning really begins.  I woke up this morning with about fifty things on the agenda and the coop was no where on the list.  On the drive home from dropping off my son at school I decided to move the coop to the top of the list.

coop first sectionI took a detour to Home Depot and picked up enough materials to build the coop base.  Now this coop is not going to be any regular coop.  This is going to be a combination coop with a brooder section, an immature bird section and a laying hen section.  I decided on a 12 foot long by five feet deep coop.  To assemble the base I notched 4×4 posts to fit standard 2×4’s.  I built  front and back frames and I used five foot 2×4’s on the ends to build the squared up frame.

coop baseOnce the frame was built I installed the floor joists.  I had a bunch of old joist hangers in the garage but unfortunately they were for 2×6’s so back to the garage they went and I just nailed the joists in.  I will not be standing on the frame so no joist hangers are really needed (I just wanted to get rid of the hangers).

coop frame floorIt took a few hours to finish but the base turned out pretty nice.  Once I finished the framing I leveled the base but I need to figure out how to nail on the back framing with it being so close to the fence.

coop base frameNext step is to put down the floor sheeting (plywood), and then I will frame the multiple sections of the house followed by the roof which will be the subject of future posts.   I plan to shingle the roof and place a gutter to catch water to a storage barrel on the side of the coop.

coop base finishedI plan to tear out my old coop and pen in the fall once the roof top garden garlic and onions are harvested.   I will use the wood to build my cold frame in the fall.

Today’s project would have been much easier with a little help but I managed to only smash my thumb with the hammer once.  I did learn a valuable lesson building in an existing chicken run.   Never put anything in your mouth that has been on the ground in the run (like nails).   Funny how things taste a little funny.

This coming weekend I plan to get going on the Blessed Sacrament Garden expansion.   I will rent a sod cutter and tear out 1000 square feet of sod, I will build a three bin compost system, a worm box and I need to install some railroad ties for edging.  I hope to get these projects done by the end of next week.   I have a winter market on Saturday at the Rio Grande Depot from 1000 to 2:00 so if you need something fun to do on a rainy day come on down.  The market area is covered and has roof heaters so it a pleasant environment.

I even managed to plant some onions today.   Tomorrow I need to finally clean my truck.   That will take longer than the coop I think.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New coop construction

  1. Tom McCoy says:

    Looks great. I have been busy finishing my sub-irrigated strawberry patch (100 plants coming mid-month). I also built a “frost protector” for my 3-year old peach trees and deployed it last night as there are a few blossoms and we had frost. Bees are going strong and I have resisted not feeding this Spring and for me I think that is a good decision. Later on in the summer you ought to come over and look at my tomato trellis for my heirloom indeterminate tomatoes and see how the strawberry patch turned out. I have been documenting everything with pictures.

  2. Hey Tom, I will stop by this summer some time to check out your garden progress. I am caring for my mother who broke her ankle last week and will be out of commission for about eight weeks. She is not far from your place so will have to swing by. I plan to medicate the bees for foul brood in the next couple of days. I have not seen a mite problem so will hold off on that treatment. I hope my apple and peach treas produce this year. Keep my fingers crossed.

    Thanks
    Scott

Leave a Reply

