Spring planting at Blessed Sacrament School


spring school gardenSpring is definitely in the air and today several eager gardeners planted the first phase of our spring garden at the Blessed Sacrament Catholic School.   We cleared off the straw ground covering from winter which we used to make walking paths between the rows.  We planted peas from seed, and broccoli, cauliflower and cabbage from plants.  Next week we will plant onion sets, carrots, beets and other spring seeds.   The garlic we planted last fall is coming up nicely.

school garlic

school broccolischool cauliflowerWe recently received great news that the Blessed Sacrament Garden was awarded a $2000 grant from Whole Foods.  This money will be used to expand the garden an additional 1000 square feet, compost bins will be installed and a worm bin will be constructed to compost the vegetable and fruit waste from the school lunchroom.  We plan to have a tool shed built and we hope to make the garden self sufficient by having a weekly vegetable market for the school, staff and parish.  We hope to have surplus to donate to needy families.  The teachers are planning fun gardening educational activities for the students.  Big plans for this second year garden.

grow lightsOn a personal note, I have used my grow light system for leeks, cauliflower, lettuce and spinach.

The lettuce will be cut and used for fresh salad in the near future.

grow light lettuceThe leeks germinated well.

leeksThis spring I have let the chickens roam the yard digging up all the beds looking for whatever unlucky bugs they happen upon.  I recently put in a temporary fencing to keep them in check so I can get started on my own spring planting.  Going through my pictures tonight I realized I have not taken any pictures of my garden lately.   It’s a mess at present so probably a good thing.

I have been feeding my bees with sugar water and yesterday I had a chance to inspect the hive and it is going gang busters.  The bees have already been out collecting pollen and the two super boxes are fully drawn in comb.  I went ahead and put my third box back on the hive to give them room to hopefully avoid swarming.   I will inspect the hive again weekly, weather permitting, and if I find any queen cells I plan to use one to start a new hive.   No stings so far this year.

The downtown winter farmer’s market continues every other Saturday from 10:00 to 14:00 (2:00).  The next market is on March 22nd.   I look forward to the downtown summer market season beginning in June.

In addition to my compost bin business I have decided to join my spouse in the world of real estate.  I have realized this winter that money doesn’t grow on dormant trees so I need to expand my financial horizons.   I have a week or so left of schooling and then I will take the state exams to be a licensed real estate agent for Exit Realty Plus.   It’s good to be busy and I am excited for the new challenges.   Finding homes with great gardens will be my specialty I think.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

