Market season winding down


The summer market season has been very productive and I have spent most of my time building product, particularly compost bins, harvest baskets and bat houses.   Last Sunday was my last day at Wheeler Farm and I have three more markets downtown.   I have been so busy trying to keep up with building that I have not had much time to take care of my own garden.   I still try to find time to take advantage of the continuing garden bounty and I made a nice salad today containing kale, juliet and yellow pear tomatoes, green peppers, red onion, broccoli and cucumber.  It may snow tonight so I don’t know how much longer these summer veggies will survive.

saladLast week I finally got around to checking the bee hive for a chance at a honey harvest.  I inspected the entire hive and learned that the bees have put up some honey in the top (third) super but not enough to take much for our use.  I did harvest one partially filled frame.

frameNot all of the honey was capped and I simply used a slotted spoon to scrape the honey and wax into a plastic tote.  I then screened the honey through a strainer and then a finer strainer to clean out the wax.   I was surprised that I filled a mason jar about half full with only a partial frame.

honeyI read that cleaning the frames is as easy as putting them next to the hive for the bees to reclaim the remaining honey.  Worked like a charm.

frame cleaningbees on frameI received good news recently that the Westlake Jr. High Garden has been selected as School Garden of the Year by Edible Wasatch Magazine.  The prize is a $500 award and the garden will be featured in the magazine in October.  Congratulations to the school staff, parents and students for a job well done.  There were many skeptics when we started the garden and it is nice to prove the naysayers wrong.

The Blessed Sacrament School Garden has also been a success and we have applied for a grant from Whole Foods to expand our garden for next year.  Maybe the Blessed Garden will be the big winner next year.

I have started an affiliation with a new store, Silver Star Hardware which is located at 2327 East and 3300 South in Salt Lake City.

silver starI will bring additional items to the store once the market season is over.  Produce baskets are the first of my items for sale at the store.

harvest basketsGood luck to the Wasatch Front Market Store but I have discontinued my association with them and have moved on to greener pastures.

Lastly, every year I am surprised by a hidden treasure in my garden.   This year I was not very observant as my pumpkin vine climbed on to my wood pile and left me a nice big surprise for Halloween.   Looking forward to fall clean-up which will be fodder for my next post.

pumpkin

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Market season winding down

  1. Adam House says:

    Where will you be this weekend? I need a bat House.

  2. Jack Morse says:

    Enjoy reading your posts. I met you the second or third weekend of the downtown farmers market. We were in town for a wedding. I’m on my 3rd set of compost bins over my 30 years of gardening. The design I used is almost identical to yours and came out of “Crockett’s Victory Garden” by James Underwood Crockett published in 1977. He had a TV show on PBS (before cable). I have a minor problem you might be able to help me with. How do you keep the top front corners of your end compartments from bowing out. The front right-most and front left-most bins on my setup want to bow out when I have the bin loaded. Thanks for any help. Jack

    • Hey Jack, thanks for the message. My bins are not my personal design but are the ones I have found to be the best. I just pride myself in using the best materials and workmanship. The problem with the bin design is that if we put a front rail on top it would defeat the purpose of ease of access. What I do is make sure to use washers on the bolt assemblies and I regularly tighten the bolts. Once the wood weathers some I will pound a piece of rebar into the ground on each side to keep them in line. I think that will do the trick for you and it isn’t that visibly obvious. Hope that helps. Thanks again for the message. Scott

      • Jack Morse says:

        Thanks for the rebar idea. I’ll give it a try. A few years ago on my previous set of bins I did try a front top rail that was 4 pieces with each piece hold one bin to the next. I drilled oversized holes and just dropped in carriage bolts to hold them in place and they were removable but it was cumbersome and when unhooked to move or add compost the top would bow out and I’d have to pull it back in to put the top rail piece back in place. Not good. The rebar idea sounds like a winner. Thnx. Jack

  3. Hey Jack, the more I think about it I think it is a good idea to put washers on each side of the bolt assemblies so you can tighten them up without pulling the bolt head through the wood. I think this will help in conjunction with the rebar and keep the bins compartments square.
    Scott

    • Jack Morse says:

      Scott, I think mine has washers on both sides. It was built about 2 years ago and is burried under snow right now (live in upstate NY) so it will be awhile before I can check. A difference I can see is that I use nails (roofing) on the top of each slat. I pound a nail in about 3 inches from each end leaving about 3/4″ of the nail exposed. This leaves a 3/4″ air space between the slats allowing some air in. I get a picture next time out to the bin. Jack

Leave a Reply

