Time of backyard bounty


Other than spring, this is the time of year that I most look forward to.  Earlier in the season I have been able to graze on individual vegetables ripening but now many vegetables are producing nicely.   We have recently been eating tomatoes, onions, kale, broccoli, cucumbers, peppers and zucchini and last weekend we ventured into cheese making with our first batch of Mozzarella.  We bought a kit from the Market Store and it was a simple process.

cheese and veggiesThese ingredients made for a great dinner.

dinnerYesterday a couple of my chickens jumped the fence and dug up some onions in the burlap.  I never do very well with onions as I plant a lot but can’t seem to grow big onions.  I can’t complain as the smaller onions are just as tasty but if anyone has any onion tips please send them my way.  I did learn that onions are easily harvested simply by pulling up the burlap.

onions in burlapI used one of my produce harvest baskets to collect the onion bounty.

picked onionsThese baskets make it easy to wash the vegetables and air dry them prior to bringing the produce into the house.  These baskets are good sellers at the farmer’s markets.  They are made of hardwood and the bottom is screened with hardware cloth to allow for hosing off of the vegetables right in the basket.

clean onionsToday I conducted a full inspection of my bee hive.  I placed the third super on the hive a couple of weeks ago and I was excited to see how much honey the bees have produced for me.  Sadly, they have not done anything with the top super box but they have pretty much filled the bottom two supers with brood and honey.   As Labor Day is the usual harvest time I hope these bees get busy or I won’t be getting honey this year.  They have another month so I am hopeful to get one super to harvest.

I wore the bee mask, gloves, a white shirt and jeans to inspect the hive.  Even though it was a little breezy today, the bees were calm.  I even had three or four climb up my pant legs, (I forgot to put rubber bands on the cuffs), and no stings as I calmly shook them out.

Lastly, the family recently took a nice hike to Cecret Lake (yes it is spelled this way), above Alta Ski Resort.  The wildflowers are in full bloom and the short hike gets you to a very beautiful place.  I highly recommend this outing.

cecret lake

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

