Market season in full swing


sl market week 1

sl  market weem 2

The first two weeks of the Downtown Farmer’s Market are in the books.  I have enjoyed interacting with the diverse downtown crowd who are very interested in the environment and gardening.   Bat houses, produce harvest baskets, bird feeders and horseradish plants have been popular and the compost bins have been very well received.

garden bed Marilyn

I spent Father’s Day morning over at a friend’s house working on a backyard reclamation project.  I pulled a lot of weeds, removed ivy and made simple borders out of old chimney bricks and decorative rocks.  I also placed some flagstone pavers down a slippery slope which turned out nice.   The only cost to the homeowner was labor for this part of the project.

garden pathI have been teaching at the Westlake summer school program a couple of hours a day, three days a week.  Last week was teaching the kids all about composting and today we went into the garden and educated them about the plants and their uses.

061813 garden

I will be working hard the rest of the week to replenish the items that sold over the weekend.  I delivered a two bin compost system on my way home from the market Saturday and today I built two bins for a woman in Park City which I will deliver Wednesday.

two bin new

I also need to build a few harvest baskets which I make out of hardwood and hardware cloth.  The baskets make it easy to wash your home produce before bringing it into the house.  They also make nice counter top fruit baskets.

produce basket2darkwalnut

The smaller baskets are great for collecting the backyard eggs.

egg basketI also need to find time to build a few bat houses as they have brought a lot of interest.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

It looks like summer will only get busier so there should be a lot to blog about.  Stay tuned.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

