A Blessed Garden is installed


blessed garden signMy last post discussed laying the foundation retaining wall for the Blessed Sacrament School garden.   On Memorial Day the girl scouts installed signs and planted the majority of the garden.   I was off camping so did not get to participate in the planting fun but the girls did a great job.  Here are some pictures to share.

garden sign #2The parents behind the garden are a group of women from Australia whose husbands work for Rio Tinto.  They have educated me about hat wearing when working in the garden due to the risk of skin cancer, even in young children.  I guess Australia has one of the highest rates of skin cancer so they are making sure the kids are safe while enjoying the outdoors.

wear hat signI made twenty five plant identification signs which the girls scouts painted.  They turned out very cute.

tomato signpeppers signcarrots signcorn signAnd the kids made stepping stones for a pathway.

walking stonesOne of the parents donated an old birdhouse on a post.

birdhouse postThe garden project has been simple but has attracted a lot of interest from parents and school staff.   It is a great addition for a new school gardening curriculum.  Next step will be to add a compost bin and a worm bin to recycle the school’s lunch waste.

loaded for marketOn a personal note I am writing this post on the eve of the start of the Salt Lake Downtown Farmer’s Market season.  I have been busy building compost bins, compost screens,  harvest baskets, bat houses, bird houses and I have dug some horseradish plants for sale.  The truck is loaded and ready to go.  I decided not to haul a three bin compost system to market as the booth space is limited.   I will place the one and two bins together to visualize the three bin.  I am excited for this new adventure but the morning will be coming early with a 6:00 a.m. set up time.  If you get a chance come and visit the Urban Compost Systems booth which will be located on the 300 West side of the park in an interior space toward the south craft side of the park.  I am a mixed vendor so I can bring excess produce from my garden.   Looks like a nice hot day is the forecast so wear a hat and apply the sunscreen (per the Australian women).

P.S.  I took a nice evening stroll in the garden to put the chickens to bed and I decided to check on the bees.  Ten days ago I added the second hive box and I checked a couple of days ago and there was not much activity in the second box.   I have gotten a little over confident in handling the bees and up to tonight I have not had a sting.   Tonight I had the brilliant idea of opening the lid to check on the status.  There was a loud hum evident.  Even smarter was the idea to pull out an outer frame.  Reminder, never open the hive at night.  Enough said.  Got away with only one sting but I had another one hot on my a#$ but I utilized my tae kwan do moves and got away.   There seems to be much more activity in the top box.  I will suit up in the near future and check it out.  I think I will wear the gloves next time.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Gardening and composting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Blessed Garden is installed

  1. Tom McCoy says:

    I used to be overconfident when handling my bees but after lots of stings I now suit up each time. When I added the second super the other day I noticed a different level of “hum” after a couple of minutes and was glad I was suited up. It seems to be a pretty good year for the bees, as opposed to last year, as they had filled the first box and were definitely ready for another. Last year was not a good year.

    • Yes it seems like a really good year for the bees.  I was instructed to feed sugar water until father’s day but they really slowed down using it a couple of weeks ago so I have not filled it recently.  I think I will suit up in the next couple of days and check out the progress.  Thanks Tom

Leave a Reply

