Blessed Sacrament garden


Well it has been an interesting week.  About a month ago my wife and I attended a fundraiser dinner for my son’s school.   There was an auction (silent and live bid), and I was determined to have a nice dinner and leave without another dent in my credit card.  Well it just so happened that one of the live auction items was Lasik eye surgery and two years of aftercare.  I had thought about Lasik but not seriously.  Just so happened that my son’s pediatrician was sitting with us at the table and after she told me how great the doctor is, how great a job he did on her eyes and she coupled that with a comment about how this doctor is the personal choice of many in the medical field I got an itch.  Well, one thing led to another and I found myself the winner of the Lasik surgery.   After winning the bid the pediatrician then asked me if I had been screened to see if I could have the surgery.  A dark thought crossed my mind regarding the what if I can’t have the surgery and how much money did I just spend for possibly nothing.  I then mentioned to the doctor that if the surgery didn’t work out I was happy that my child’s medical care would be really cheap.   Then a dark thought went through her mind and she got awfully quiet until I winked and smiled at her.

Anyways to make a long story short, I had PRK Lasik surgery last week and I have to say the experience was not painless.  The surgery was fine but recovery sucked.   In any event please forgive any spelling errors as I have my face about a foot from the computer screen typing this entry.  It takes a few weeks for vision to become clear and until then I am not going to buy reading glasses until I know what strength I will need.

Back to gardening.  Going to a fundraiser led to many conversations, some involving gardening as I had donated a compost bin and related supplies and advice for the auction.  Soon after the auction I received a call from a mother at the school who wanted to start a school garden at Blessed Sacrament with the girl scout program and she asked me to help.  School gardens are right up my alley so I agreed to get the project started by building plant and garden signs for the girls to paint and I agreed to repair a two tier railroad tie retaining wall (48 feet wall).

blessed acrament 1First step was tearing out the rotten existing railroad ties.

blessed sacrament 2Then I ran a string to keep the wall straight and started the first tier.

b.s.3b.s.4The first day of building was a rainy one so I only put one layer down, leaving the power tools at home.  The second day was today and it was a beautiful day.

b.s.5b.s.6It never fails that one person always parks right in the way of a project.  Today’s winner was a parent volunteer who had gone on a day long field trip.

The project cost the girl scouts about $280 in materials and I threw in the labor for free.  This part of the project took about a day and tomorrow I am meeting with the scout leaders to go over a plant plan so they can head to the nursery to buy plants and seeds.  Planting with the kids is scheduled for this Memorial Day weekend.  I still need to tweak the sprinkling system and we plan on starting a composting program recycling school lunch waste and they want a red worm box.  The most important thing about a school garden project is having dedicated and enthusiastic parents involved in addition to the teachers.  Teachers are too busy to stay on top of a project like this.  It takes a community to raise a garden.  Although this garden is small (about 432 square feet), it will grow a lot of food.  In contrast, the Westlake garden is 3600 square feet but it supports a much larger school population.  This size of a garden will be manageable and will not be overwhelming.   It feels good to keep the gardening movement going.  Now looking for school garden number 3.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

