Mother’s Day tree planting


red bud

Last summer I finished my mother’s paver patio but did not get around to ripping out more grass and planting the Red Bud tree that she wanted.   Mother’s Day seemed like a good day to get the project completed so this morning I headed over to mom’s to get started.

grass

First step was to dig out the grass.

grass digIt took several wheelbarrow loads to remove the 70 square feet of grass.

wheelbarrow

It only took one pickup load of grass which I added to the pile of grass in my driveway from the paver project.  I plan to compost all the grass and use the soil to fill my potato bins.

truck bedNext step was to place cedar edging to keep the grass out of the bed.

edgingI then dug a hole for the tree planting.  Removing the soil with the sod lowered the bed so I dug a slightly shallower hole to bring the tree up to ground level once the bark is applied to finish the project.

tree holeI brought some freshly screened compost from home to nourish the soil.  I dumped about four inches of compost on the bottom of the hole and then I spread the rest over the removed soil from the hole and mixed it together before filling the hole.  I watered the tree prior to filling the hole and I scored the outside of the tree root ball to get the roots growing.

compost bucketscomposted bedAfter leveling the bed with a layer of fresh compost I placed landscape fabric over the bed for week control.

landscape fabric1full fabricLast step was planting two hostas and spreading ten bags of medium sized bark mulch for visual appeal along with a deep watering of the entire bed.

hostsbarked bedpatio and bedThe project took about four hours to complete including drive time to drop off the sod, one trip to Home Depot and a good lunch prepared by mom.   I pulled out her patio furniture from her garage and we ended the day with a barbecue on her patio.  All in all a good day for all.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Gardening and composting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

