Inexpensive yard reclamation


Each spring/summer I take on a couple of yard projects to supplement my compost bin and accessories business.  Last year the big project was my mother’s paver patio and this year I have decided to tackle a full yard reclamation and landscaping project for a family friend.   The residence is in downtown Salt Lake City and the yard is the usual mature plantings which have gotten out of control.   Like most people I can spend a lot of money on yard projects but that is not everyone’s style or financial ability.  This yard project will include a new sprinkling system and some store bought materials, but the majority of the work will involve reusing materials and simple pruning and landscaping.

before shotbefore right

The first task I decided to tackle was a simple front yard clean-up, pruning and the placement of reclaimed chimney brick for edging.  I spent approximately five hours on the front yard and I spent exactly zero in supplies.   There is still some rose pruning, weeding and installation of some new plantings but the homeowner did not want me to touch her roses until they finish blooming in the fall at which time I will cut them back to about a foot tall.  The above right picture shows a pioneer heritage rose that was reportedly brought by the early Utah settlers so I need to be very careful pruning that bush.

after leftafter rightafter bushrose right area

Hope the pictures capture the simplicity of this project and that you can make your yard much more visually appealing with a little elbow grease and know how.

I have an elderly neighbor who I don’t see outside very often.  She has a very overgrown yard and yesterday I saw her outside pondering what to do.   I think I will pitch in and give her a hand.  It’s fun to use my creativity with a pair of pruners in hand and I am sure she will appreciate a little help.   Hope this post provides some hope and inspiration to those who feel overwhelmed.  It’s not nearly as bad as it looks.

 

 

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inexpensive yard reclamation

  1. Tom McCoy says:

    Edward Scissorhands comes to mind!

Leave a Reply

