Westlake garden 2013


Westlake gardenThis morning I took a drive to Westlake Junior High to meet with staff from the school’s family center to start planning and preparing for this year’s community garden.  Last year was such a huge success and we have a lot to live up to this year to continue that success.

I love surveying a garden in the spring as there are always some overwintering surprises, some planned and some random.   What we found amongst the weeds, that were planned, were spinach, cilantro, garlic, swiss chard and rhubarb.

spinachcilantro

garllicThe strawberries have spread and need to be thinned and the oregano and sage are doing well.  There are random green onions sprouted from onion sets not picked last year and there is seeded out volunteer lettuce in various places throughout the garden.  It’s nice to be able to pick a weed salad of lettuce.

Tomorrow there are volunteers coming to help weed the garden, spread out the topsoil from the saved sod rounds and complete the shed.  Hope the rain holds off.

On a personal note, I am getting my order of honey bees tomorrow morning from Jones Bees in Salt Lake.  I have the first hive box ready in the garden and I am excited to start this bee project that I have been procrastinating doing for years.  I have placed the hive in the bottom, middle portion of my yard to reduce any fears my neighbors may have over a hive of bees in the neighborhood.   Bees are unlike wasps in that they are very docile when out foraging and the only aggressive bees are generally in and around the hive box itself when they feel threatened.  The bees will be a great addition to all the neighborhood gardens through their pollination and I am looking forward to my own brand of fresh honey this fall.   I am very excited to hive my first colony of bees.  Here’s a toast to not getting stung in the process.  Stay tuned….there may be some off color words in my next post from the process as I have been told to wear the veil but not gloves when hiving the colony.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Gardening and composting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Westlake garden 2013

  1. Tom McCoy says:

    I got my bees today and installed them this evening with no stings, although I suit up completely with gloves too. Too many stings in years past. My bees didn’t make it through this past winter even though they had plenty of honey. I think I have about 25 lbs. that they didn’t eat. I have found my chickens want nothing to do with the bees.

    • That’s weird that they had enough food but did not make it.  I have a roll of black roofing felt if you want to wrap up the hive this winter.  I hear as long as you punch some ventilation holes it really helps to keep them warm during the winter.  So far the bees seem to like having me around.  Guess I will think this way until I have my first “bad experience”. ha

Leave a Reply

