Urban Compost Systems and UCS Post Installation


GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Well it has been a year since I started writing this blog.  My purpose has been to assist others in becoming successful composters and gardeners.  Through my business contacts I have grown my areas of interest and it seems everyday I have new ideas that I plan to expand on with my business.  I have purposely kept this blog about the topics, not about my business.  I think once a year or so it is appropriate to talk about my business and where I am headed at the present time.

Urban Compost Systems started simply with my basic product line of one, two and three bin cedar and redwood compost systems.   I also build compost screens to allow the separation of finished from unfinished material.

GE DIGITAL CAMERAtwo bin front view

3 bin front viewIMG_1182

I have raised red wiggler compost worms for years so I supplied quite a few people with pounds of worms and worm bins to get them started on vermicomposting.

GE DIGITAL CAMERAGE DIGITAL CAMERA

For years I have wanted to be a vendor at a farmer’s market.  Last year I made this desire a reality by spending the summer and fall at the Wheeler Farm Market on Sundays.

GE DIGITAL CAMERAGE DIGITAL CAMERA

I added birdhouses, bat houses, mason bee houses and bird feeders to the product line.

GE DIGITAL CAMERAthree nest house

GE DIGITAL CAMERAmason bee houses

GE DIGITAL CAMERAplatform bird feeders

I have a friend who own a fireplace mantle business and he supplies me with hardwood scraps that I have made into garden and craft baskets.  I love to design build and I see many different types of baskets and planter boxes coming out of my shop this year.

produce basketsGE DIGITAL CAMERA

Last summer I also did a lot of garden consulting and I installed a couple of grape trellis’ and a paver patio.

headerGE DIGITAL CAMERA

I spent a good deal of time creating and maintaining the Westlake school garden.  This was a fun and rewarding project and I hope to be involved in creating other school/community gardens in the future.

tomatoes and hot pepperscucumbers

To keep me busy in the winter months I decided to add real estate post installation to my business under the name UCS Post Installation.   This will supplement my income so I can continue to build my compost business.

realestate sign photo

I wish I could say that spring is in the air but we have not seen much to hope for with more snow coming this week but spring planting is just a few weeks away.  It’s time to get building and my hope is to continue to build my business so that I can focus my energy on what I love to do rather than what I have to do to make a living.  I plan on continuing the farmer’s market experience adding Gardner Village, Thanksgiving Point and possibly Millcreek markets.  I will also attend the Wheeler Farm market once a month or so as time allows.  I am excited to continue exploring new gardening related products and I am looking forward to tackling the creative challenges that lie ahead.

If you would like to see my items in person, come to the Wasatch Front Farmer’s Market store located at 5823 S. State Street in Salt Lake City.   The owners are the people who run the summer farmer’s markets and they are really great people.  Go and say hi to Marty and Maryann and support our local vendors.  They have a great facebook page so search for Wasatch Front Farmer’s Market.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

I hope I can continue to help with other people’s gardening dreams.  Give me a call or text 801-718-4007.  Thanks for your support.

Scott

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Urban Compost Systems and UCS Post Installation

  1. Ralph.T says:

    That looks great I Wish you all the best and I wanted to thank you for your advice about the chickens.

  2. Marcela Montemurro says:

    2012 in a nut shell… great job.

  3. Brandee Burnam says:

    hey, i met you at the farmers market today, how much are the two diff bat houses again and how many feet high must you hang up? message back or text me at 8015734400 or email me at brandeeburnam@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

