Christmas Birdhouses


three nest houseGE DIGITAL CAMERA

Merry Christmas everyone.  Life has been busy getting ready for the holidays and I just finished cooking a turkey in a propane cooker.  If you haven’t tried the propane route, it is much safer and less messy than oil and it works great.  Thought I would jot a line or two before sitting down to a great Christmas dinner.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

I decided this year to give the neighbors birdhouses so I have been busy making as many as possible.  I enjoy woodworking and I usually use the scraps from my compost bin business but that has stopped for the winter.  I have a friend who owns Mantel Magic and he gives me his scrap hardwood which paints nicely.  I also use our tae kwan do boards from board breaking which also make nice houses.   My favorite material is cedar which smells so good when it is cut and sanded.    I am nearly out of houses so I  will be building a lot the rest of the holidays.  I have yet to replace my digital camera which has a broken screen so the quality of pictures is based on my best guess which is not always the best.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

I managed to get my bee hive boxes and frames built so I am almost ready for the bee experiment this spring.  Just need to add a coat of white paint to have them ready to go.   I have really enjoyed turning on the heater in the garage and cutting wood.  It has been a little over a year since I retired from law enforcement and I have really enjoyed the change of pace that my business has provided.  I am looking forward to spring and my next outdoor project is going to be a pvc cold frame.   Stay tuned for the first blog of 2013.

Merry Christmas and I hope everyone has a prosperous new year.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Birdhouses

  1. Marcela Montemurro says:

    I hope you had a great Christmas and hoping a great time with the family. Just to let you know the bird houses i purchased from you were a success, all my friends and colleagues at work they love them. thanks

Leave a Reply

