Transitional success


As the gardening season has come into dormancy, I guess it’s time to reflect on my accomplishments this year.  I wish to thank all of the readers of this blog.  I have spoken to many like minded people through this blog and to date the site has over 4100 visits.   I hope it has been helpful and informative for you in accomplishing your gardening goals.

It has been a year since I retired from my law enforcement job.  I had devised a post retirement plan that included several “part-time endeavors” including teaching at a college,  the creation of the junior high school garden, starting up my own compost bin business and being the main errand runner for my eight year old son.   I wanted to make sure I had my bases covered believing that natural selection would eventually choose which of the ventures would carry me forward.  Fortunately (or unfortunately relating to time), everything panned out and it has been a very busy and productive year.  I have achieved all of my major objectives, still leaving plenty of room for improvement and growth.

I have also decompressed from the negative and depressing law enforcement environment, (more administration than offender) and I have a new sense of individualism that is totally separate from my old life.  I feel a great sense of accomplishment from the creation of products which people value rather than earning a paycheck from many activities that very few actually value.  I miss the daily interaction with co-workers, who are no longer close but the occasional phone calls and lunches are appreciated.

On the personal side I have followed my now red belt son into the world of tae kwan do.  Although most of my friends have (I think affectionately) nicknamed me “yellow belt”, I have earned my orange belt on the way to green.  Not bad for an old timer and I will keep this up until my body gives out.

As the snow fell today I had the opportunity to visit the grand opening of the new Wasatch Front Farmer’s Market Store located at 5823 South State in Salt Lake.  These nice folks are the same people who run the Wheeler Farm, Gardner Village and South Town farmer’s markets.  During the market season they told me about opening this store and that my products would be welcome there for sale.  As my compost bin business provides a lot of scrap wood I have expanded the business to include birdhouses, bird feeders, bat houses and mason bee houses.   It was nice to see my items on display.  It was also nice to buy an assortment of items which support my fellow vendors.  Today I purchased a cheese making kit, yogurt making material, jam, bread, garlic dill pickles, squash and a couple of ears of popcorn.  I am very excited for the owners as they are living their dream and doing well.  They are living lives surrounded by farming and I hope to one day be able to scale back the outside jobs to focus solely on my business.   If you get a chance come and visit the store and support the people involved in the local food and craft movement.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

