Fall clean-up part 1


Over the weekend I checked out the weather forecast and decided that my extend the harvest season is close to being over.   Yesterday I went out in the garden and picked most of what was left to harvest including beans, squash, hot and green peppers,  tomatoes, egg plant, red cabbage and tomatillos.

I also picked my beautiful basil plant by cutting off the roots and hanging it upside down in the garage to dry.

I still have plenty of other herbs including oregano, sage, rosemary and tarragon.   This year was funny as the school garden froze a couple of weeks ago but I have yet to have a freeze in Sandy so I have not even bothered to cover anything to protect from frost.  My tomatoes are still producing and I will be covering them tonight as snow is predicted for tomorrow.

I also went through the yard and cut down most of the perennial plants and flowers to compost.

My horseradish has become somewhat of a nuisance so I am going to heavily thin the roots and sell the starts at the market next year.

I had a lot of scrap wood from my business so I took advantage of the surplus and had a nice fire going to keep me warm during the clean-up.

As I mentioned I plan to cover the tomatoes and keep them coming for a few more weeks.  I also have green onions, swiss chard and herbs to harvest.  The chickens have so much variety to eat with all the plant cuttings that they hardly pay attention when I throw new edibles into their yard area.

I also have my second planting of potatoes to harvest which are on the rooftop garden of the chicken pen.

As you can see in the background of my photos that my yard is a mess.  But hey that is why there is going to be a part 2 (and maybe even 3) of the fall clean-up story.  I still need to cut up all the spent plants, screen out all the remaining compost, spread it throughout the garden and collect all the leaves I can find.  I have yet to even look at the front yard work that needs to be done.

I also need to prune the raspberry patch but that will be a how to blog for another day.

All in all yesterday was a productive day.  I got to share it with my old blind, toothless friend Whisky.

She still has the energy to bark at everyone but the older she gets she likes to dig a little impression in the ground and she has found a flat rock to use as a pillow for her naps.  Hope she has a few more years left in her.

The clean-up saga will continue once the rain and snow stops.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

