End of the season at Westlake


Today is a bitter sweet day after a full season of gardening at Westlake.  The school family center staff and volunteers have cleared the last of the dead vegetation from the garden beds.   There are still veggies growing including lettuce, spinach, cilantro, leeks, swiss chard and collard greens.

The garlic has been planted for a harvest next July.  The compost bins have been emptied making room for all the fall clean-up.  The shed finally has a roof and is waiting on a door.

I took some time today to take a few photos of the garden.  It brought back memories of how the garden began.

The memory of the back breaking work of sod removal is still fresh in my mind and my body.

The hard work by students, faculty and Comcast volunteers to build and fill the garden beds in just a few hours.

To the kids planting vegetables for the first time.

To the excitement of watching the plants grow.

To the summer bounty.

To the fall bounty.

To the fall clean-up.

Goodbye Westlake.  My job here is through.  We started from nothing and have ended the very successful gardening season with the family center staff taking over the garden for next year.   Now off to find my next project.  Anyone need help starting a community garden?

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Gardening and composting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to End of the season at Westlake

  1. Marcela Montemurro says:

    I have followed you thru this process, its an amazing work you have done. If only all schools utilized their land in the same matter lots of family can have fresh veggies on a daily bases.. Well Done!

Leave a Reply

