Asian pear harvest


Two summers ago I purchased an asian pear tree.  I had never grown one before and I had no idea what to expect and how long it would take to produce fruit.  That first summer the tree produced four pears.  They grew to the size of a small apple and I waited and waited for them to show signs of ripening.  Problem was I did not know the signs of a ripe asian pear so I picked them still a little green.  They tasted good but they were not quite ripe.  An asian pear has white flesh and has the shape and texture of an apple but is less juicy then a regular pear and it also has a more subtle pear flavor.

This summer the tree put on over seventy fruit.  Problem is I did not thin the fruit nor did I provide support for the fruiting branches and I lost a branch bearing around 25 immature pears.  I then got smart and provided support for the two remaining fruiting branches and the pears ripened nicely.  In total we will have around thirty or so ripe pears to eat.  They are ripe when the outside flesh turns a pale yellow.

It’s nice to have fruit this early in the tree’s life as the apples will take a few more years to produce a crop.   If you haven’t tried growing an asian pear I would suggest giving it a try.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Asian pear harvest

  1. Marcela Montemurro says:

    i love those pears, and i think i have been eating them all…

Leave a Reply

