Why I garden


It has been awhile since I have thought philosophically about why I do anything.  Since retirement I have been trying on new things and they seem to have fit me just fine.  After watching my son in tae kwan do for a year I decided tonight was the night and I attended my first class.  I did not break or strain anything and I am now a white belt (my son is a blue belt).  I figure I will be able to defend myself when he becomes thirteen or so as he will probably be a three stripe black belt by then.

Challenges have always been stressful to me but also very important.  I may seem irritated at times  and not seem to enjoy some tasks, but if a day goes by without accomplishment it gets me down.  It’s hard to find meaningful goals in life that I can stick to.   I think the tae kwan do phase will fill a void for a long term black belt goal.  In the short term I have chosen gardening to fulfill my short term goals.

I can argue in the affirmative about the health value of consuming home grown food.  I can feel safer about making my own compost and not making the news with some food borne illness.  I can feel better eating healthier eggs with less cholesterol from my backyard chickens.  I can feel good about not helping fill up the landfill with my green waste.  I can check the bank statement and feel better about not having to take the full brunt of a 4% increase in food costs this year due to the drought.  The exercise gardening provides is beneficial and I can value that.  Although these pro gardening arguments are great they don’t sum up why I garden.

I garden because it takes my mind to positive places and things.  I can sit back after a long day of gardening work and look forward to different demands for tomorrow.  The jobs are never done.  The short term goals keep coming and changing minute by minute.  I will have a plan for the day and then looking back at the end of the day I accomplished some of the things on my list but I also accomplished much more that I had not planned on.

Gardening helps me look forward to getting up in the morning.  As a type A personality type I have always worked hard at completing projects.  Gardening forces me to understand that I am never done when it comes to gardening.  It puts life in perspective with small victories and accomplishments.   I know that through gardening I will never have to worry about living a life bored, lost or negative.   I know that no matter how dirty I get in the garden, I never feel dirty.   Maybe gardening connects me to my ancestral roots.  Maybe gardening is in my blood……or maybe gardening just found me.   Looking at this post I have not mentioned one negative thing about gardening……because I have not found one yet.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

