Paver patio project (completed)


Well it took two weeks and a day to get the patio done but it turned out pretty well.  Last blog I ended with more area to gravel and sand and more pavers to lay.  I finished the pavers a couple of days ago just as a brief rainstorm ended my day.

The next task was replacing the bottom border which I did not like how the fiberglass edging turned out so I headed to Home Depot but never made it out of the development as to my good fortune a crew was tearing out heavy duty rigid edging from the complex in favor of placing concrete curbing.  I was able to acquire twenty five feet of this edging which I used for the bottom edging backed with gravel and eventually river rock.  I also did not like how the east side terracing turned out so I headed back to Home Depot and purchased a railroad tie which I had to level with the tops of the existing paver rows.

I ended up with a small gap below the tie so I headed back to Home Depot for a large wall brick which I cut to size with a grinder and chisel.

It took two trips to HD for the river rock which I filled in along the fence and also refreshed the river rock next to the house in a few low spots.

The final step to the patio was sweeping sand into the crevices.  This takes a lot of sweeping and washing the sand into the gaps.  I will go back and sand the patio a couple more times in the next couple of weeks.

Mom was excited to have the patio done and we headed to Pier One for a new table, chairs and a smaller table.  I moved her barbecue on to the patio and ran to Harmon’s to pick up propane so she is ready to go.   I am glad to have this project completed but it was nice spending a lot of time with mom.  I think she enjoyed my company……most of the time.  I also got her to display her hand knitted scarfs at the farmer’s market on Sunday.

I completed this approximately 20 1/2 by 8 1/2 patio spending a little over $1900 in materials plus a couple of hundred dollars for the paver delivery charge.  Although the builder can always see the flaws I hope they are invisible to others.  All in all I am pleased with how it turned out.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Gardening and composting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Paver patio project (completed)

  1. Marcela Montemurro says:

    It looks very nice, i bet your mom loves it! Are you doing this so you can get the son of the year?

  2. Jeannette says:

    That looks fabulous! And it’s so good of you to be there for your mom like that. Enjoy the patio when you go to visit her!

  3. Kim says:

    A job well done Scott! Your Mom is lucky to have such a strong, methodical, hard working son who takes great ride in all he accomplishes!

Leave a Reply

