Somedays, gardening is work


Today I started a paver patio project for my mother which I promised to do some time ago but never seemed to find enough time or motivation to get it started.   With my lull in teaching until August 20, I thought now is the time to get started fresh from vacation.  What I forgot is the old tried and true statement, bodies in motion stay in motion and bodies after vacation have a hard time doing crap….or something like that.

It’s bad to start a paver project with low energy as the first step is digging out all the sod.  I managed to dig out the sod for a 20 foot by 8 foot patio.   It was hot and I drank about ten glasses of water and sweated out twenty.  I was elated to find out the sprinkler system under the new patio area is easy to cap off as I thought this was going to be my biggest headache.  I have built two previous paver patios and I think I remember all the little tricks but will see.  We took a trip down to Lehi block a couple of weeks ago and picked out the pavers so I will call them and hopefully they deliver.  If not I will be commuting to Lehi three or four times.  In any event I will document the paver project and when it is done I will blog about it…….if I do a good job anyway.  If not forget I mentioned this.

Mid-day I ran over to the Junior High garden for the first time in a week and a half.  I had good help watering and watching over it while I was gone. It’s amazing how much stuff grows in a week.  I was particularly amazed with the birdhouse gourds as I have never grown them before.  The sweet corm grew at least a foot and the ears are forming and tassling out.  There are a ton of green tomatoes.  I have people from the school’s family center picking the vegetables for neighborhood families in the morning and I have yet to see a fully sized ripe tomato as they go as fast as they ripen.  The bush beans are producing heavily now and they will continue to do so all season as long as they are picked regularly.  I was concerned that I did not plant enough squash but I forgot that one always has too much squash.   The cucumbers have really started to produce well and are starting to climb the fence.  I noticed that there are four ripe ghost peppers (hottest peppers in the world) and I need to make sure whoever gets them knows what they are getting.  I have a ton of a type of squash I am unfamiliar with and I am going to have to google it to figure out what they are.  It has an orange top and a white bottom (see picture below).  I spent two hours watering, weeding and pruning the tomatoes.  I brought some grass clippings and finished building another compost pile.  I need to turn three bins in the near future.   Here are some pictures of the garden bounty.

The evening was spent with my son’s tae kwan do and I screened a pound or two of worms for a customer coming from Logan on Wednesday.  The farmer’s market yesterday was good and hot but it was a great day to be at the farm with a good sized crowd.   I have a lot of people contemplating buying bat houses but they are slow to pull the trigger.  I guess people need more convincing that bats are indeed very beneficial creatures.

Tomorrow I have the fun job of going to Home Depot for the first load of gravel and I will be loading and running the cut sod back to my house to compost.  I am tired today but it is good to get the body in motion again.   Some days gardening is work.  I usually don’t think of it that way.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

