Back from vacation


Yesterday we left northern California and made the long pilgrimage back to Salt Lake.  We stayed at a town called Shelter Cove in an inn overlooking the ocean.  It was so nice to sleep with the cool ocean air and the sound of the waves hitting the beach.  They have great tide pools to explore, plenty of sea life to discover, many seals lounging on the rocks and in the spring and fall the whales are plentiful.  I highly recommend this quaint little fishing village which is within miles of the Avenue of the Giants (Redwood forest).

I woke up this morning with plenty of chores to catch up on.  I got the lawn mowed, pulled a few weeds and dug a pound of red worms for a customer out of my compost bins.  With the big dog gone my two chickens now have the run of the yard and they are still out enjoying digging worms and eating everything green.  I will be in search of four more hens to replenish the flock in the next few days.

I had quite a variety of vegetables to pick today for a stir fry tonight.

It was delicious and went well with the cucumber, red onion and juliet tomato salad coated with a little olive oil.  The stir fry included yellow zucchini, red and yellow onion, green peppers, egg plant, broccoli, cabbage and baby carrots.   I am amazed that I still have side shoots coming on my broccoli and cabbage as hot as it has been.

Its nice to be home.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

