Update on my fruit progress


I spent this evening in the backyard with my two chickens digging red worms and checking on the progress of the fruit in my yard.  The ever bearing strawberries are taking a mid summer break from production and the raspberries are winding down after a prolific season.

Last year I had a total of four asian pears on my tree and this year the tree is overloaded with fruit.  I am looking forward to a tasty harvest.

The dwarf pear has fruit which I should have picked off but will see if they continue to grow and ripen.

I also pruned and trellised the grapes and the bunches of grapes hanging down look pretty terrific.

I need to train additional vines on each cable as I originally only trained one vine per line but I think two or three vines will make a fuller trellis.

For dinner we had the first of the new potatoes (red and white) which we baked with small onions, fresh herbs and olive oil.  The potatoes were very creamy.  I picked four green peppers which we will eat tomorrow with freshly picked lemon cucumbers and tomatoes.

The hot peppers are coming on and we have harvested a few jalapeno and cayenne peppers.  The beets are about ready to harvest and the swiss chard is doing well but the bugs have been getting to it.  My zucchini squash are slow this year.

I spent two hours at the junior high garden today and after a long weekend it is amazing how much stuff has grown.  I picked the first cucumber, green peppers, hot peppers, beets, swiss chard, banana peppers, crookneck squash, zuchini squash and collards.  I tasted a few strawberries and the first of the juliet tomatoes.  It appears the bulk pole bean seed I purchased is actually bush beans so my bean teepees will most likely be unused.  The bush beans that I planted and planned on are starting to flower.  All of the vining plants have exploded with growth and are taking over their areas and climbing the fence.  The sweet corn is starting to tassel and the popcorn is putting on ears.   I forgot my camera today and it will be a few days before I can take pictures to update the progress.

I started my third compost pile in the school’s five bin system.  I have used up about two thirds of one of the fence wire rounds that I filled with the sod that I initially pulled up to start the garden.  It will be nice to have a little more space by the bins.

To end the day I built a couple of bird houses to replenish what sold at the farmer’s market yesterday.  It was a nice cool and breezy day at the market and the rain held off until we were done.  It sure beat the heat of previous days and the crowds are growing.

I am looking forward to a vacation at the end of this week.  I haven’t taken a break since I retired in December so now a few days away will be welcome.   I need to get caught up with my yard chores before heading out.   I seem to always be needing to catch up.  Guess that’s what keeps me going.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Update on my fruit progress

  1. Kim says:

    Great job on sitting the neighbors Chickens! I am sure the chickens are all happy for the extra free ranging you allowed them on this rainy day! ㋡

    • I think they had a good time. Very friendly birds. They seem to be doing well with such a big yard to hang out in. Good to get a little cleansing rain. Time to pull weeds when the ground is soft 😦

Leave a Reply

