New potatoes, daisies and coneflowers


This is finals week at the college and I have two days of tests, grades and then freedom for five weeks as I am not teaching so I can focus on my compost bin business.

Business has been picking up and I have continued to meet great people who share my love of all things growing.

This afternoon I spent a couple of hours at the junior high garden watering well after the long hot dry weekend.  I picked beets, swiss chard, lettuce,  green onions and eight very large zucchini squash.   My offer for several of the neighbors to pick produce was accepted and again I met more nice people who were very appreciative of the produce.

Yesterday I had to have a come to Jesus with the damn dog as he had dug a big hole next to the chicken pen.  I thought we had come to an understanding after our discussion but again I found a freshly dug hole near the pen today.   Unless he can pry a door off he will not be able to get to the chickens but he has done quite a bit of damage to the house (chewed door), nest boxes (destroyed shingles) and he has pulled the wire partially off a small door to the pen.  I bought a padlock tonight for the pen door and I pounded rebar into the ground in front of the small door to ensure he is not going to get in.  At least I hope he can’t get in.  He is an escape artist as he routinely gets out of locked pens (without a trace as to how), he can fit through a small sized doggy door and at the groomer’s last week he escaped a locked pen, got past a shut interior door and he exited out the front door before being chased down and caught on a busy street by the groomer.  In any event I predict that I will be posting more damn dog stories.  Hopefully my sacrificial chickens will be spared.

Back to gardening.  I took my first peak into my potato bins and I harvested a couple of decent sized red Pontiac potatoes and a few small new potatoes.  It appears I am a little early for potatoes but in the next few weeks they should be bigger.

I took some pictures of shasta daisies and white and pink cone flowers from my front yard.  The bees love these flowers.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Gardening and composting, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

