Garlic, potatoes and green peppers


Last fall I chose what I thought was a good place to plant my garlic.  I bought around ten bulbs from the grocery store and I separated each clove which I planted individually.  I hear a lot of experts say to not plant the store bought garlic as they spray it with a sprout inhibitor.  I have planted it for years with no problems noted.  I think this fall I will buy some specialty garlic just to shake up the old routine.

To get garlic to bulb up it has to go through a winter freezing cycle.  If you plant garlic in the spring all you are going to get is garlic chives and maybe small single clove bulbs.   I plant my garlic in August and in the late fall I water it well and mulch it with a thick layer of straw to overwinter.  In the spring it just keeps growing.

Well back to planting where I thought was a good place.  This is going to be another damn dog story.

If there is a fence in the yard this dog must jump over it, crawl under it or go through it.  He doesn’t seem to have a preference.  In the case of my garlic, he decided to jump over a fence with his landing zone right in the garlic patch.  All of the plants had died back so I decided I better dig up the bed to see if there was any garlic left to salvage.  To my surprise I had more than I thought but not as much as usual.  The store bought garlic is long lasting and I still have edible garlic bulbs from last season.

In addition to the garlic I picked two nice heads of cabbage and I took a few photos of my green peppers that are starting to come along.

The second planting of potatoes is coming up well and I piled another layer of unfinished compost on top.  By the time I pick these potatoes the compost should be finished and ready to mix into my rooftop chicken pen garden.

I have been picking a lot of raspberries and none of them have made it into the house.  Oh well.  I went ahead and bought raspberry jam tonight as I don’t think any homemade is going to happen this year.

I managed to find time to screen a bin of compost yesterday which I have been using to spruce up my flowerbeds by the trampoline.  The new compost sure improves the look of the garden.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Gardening and composting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Garlic, potatoes and green peppers

  1. Carlene says:

    i think it was a great website because it is really interesting. http://www.acertemail.com

Leave a Reply

