Westlake Garden Progress


A lot has been happening at the Westlake garden.  The students built a five bin compost system and we have filled two bins with the old grass I tore out along with fresh grass clippings from my neighbor.

The students have also built about half of the shed and it is on site.  It does not have a roof on it yet so hopefully this rain storm will not do too much damage to the plywood floor.

I drove over to the garden today hoping to get a little work done but I was rained out.  I did take some time to walk the garden and I have to brag a little bit….the garden looked great today.  The vegetables have really taken off.  I fertilized them a couple of days ago and it is amazing how much change happens over night.

So far we have harvested radishes, beets, lettuce, spinach, swiss chard, yellow and green zucchini, crookneck squash and green onions.  We have also picked a few hot peppers and a handful or two of strawberries.  The tomatoes are setting fruit but none have ripened yet.  The tomatoes are full of aphids but an army of ladybugs has also moved in so I think they are keeping the aphids in check.  The popcorn has tassled and the pumpkins and gourds are setting.  We should have some green and other colors of peppers soon.

I took a few pictures outside the fence photos today in a hurry to avoid the rain.  Here is a glimpse of how the garden looks now.

Nothing like the fresh smell of rain today.  It has been awhile and I am happy to have a full rain barrel at my house.

At the farmer’s market I keep getting asked if I make bat houses.  My answer has been no up until yesterday.  I guess I am now in the bat house business.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Westlake Garden Progress

  1. I will need to consult you when I get ready to do a garden next year. So much planning and I am such a novice. I am afraid of failure – having already failed once when trying to grow a garden. I think i did it all wrong, but yet I am not sure what was all wrong about what I did 🙂

    • I would be happy to help you. I think the biggest challenge for busy people like us is the concept of “tending” a garden. That word is so true as time has to be scheduled each day to take a look at everything to make sure no plants are stressed. That is where most people fall into trouble I think (along with not improving the organic matter in their soil). If you do those two things you won’t “fail”. You can then improve on the success you have. Feel free to ask me any questions that pop up. Thanks for supporting my blog. I really appreciate your comments.

      • Thanks for the info! The two items you addressed definitely seemed to be factors in my previous “fail”. I know that I need to incorporate some compost for sure! and then also just make sure I am checking on the garden fairly regularly. I want to install a watering system with a timer and all, because that was a huge source of my fail last round. Not watering enough.
        Another source of concern is knowing what to plant when, and whether or not to go from seeds or plants? I just feel like I know so little. I do have “The Vegetable Gardener’s Bible”. Which I have looked through and made notes and will definitely refer to when it comes time to plan, build, dig, sow, etc.
        Thanks again for your great advice and I look forward to consulting you in the future.

        Cheers!

      • Hey Abigail. I can definitely help you on when to plant what and whether you should grow from seed or plant. Also certain plants like each other and some do not grow well together. Let me know what you like to plant. I made a list with this information…..now I just have to find it. I will send it to you when I come across it. I look forward to helping you have a successful garden. Thanks

Leave a Reply

