Baseball over gardening


Well it is that time of year when baseball takes over our lives and gardening time is limited.   It is tournament time and my son’s team of castaways and misfits is in the championship game.  We were all very skeptical of our chances when the season started but the great group of coaches and special group of kids played their hearts out and found their identity.  We now get to play the team of cool kids and first choice players.  We hope to make another statement for the underdogs on Tuesday night at Herriman field at 5:30.

This week has been busy with college classes and the junior high garden.  We picked the rest of the radishes and harvested a few zucchinis and lettuce/spinach/swiss chard mix.  There have also been a few strawberries and a pepper or two.

Another reason for the slow blogging this week is that I happened to sit on my digital camera and broke the screen.  The camera still takes pictures but my aim is not true and the pictures turned out poor.  I did take a picture of my first raspberries of the season that turned out all right.

Image

Today I managed to get the lawn mowed, a little compost screened and I worked on a compost bin.  I picked the last of the broccoli and noticed I have a couple of nice green cabbages almost ready to harvest.  The fava beans are producing well and I am getting ready to start digging some early potatoes.  The raspberries are going crazy but they rarely make it into the house. 

With baseball over this week I hope to find the time to concentrate on my own garden again.  I’m sure there are some onions, turnips, garlic and who knows what else hiding amongst the weeds.  I plan to get another camera soon and I will be back in business.  Stay tuned.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

