Second potato planting


If you go back in my blog archives you will see that I discussed the initial planting of potatoes in potato bins. The above picture was taken yesterday from my initial planting.  The plants are taller than I have ever grown and they are close to flowering.  I will start digging up new potatoes after they flower.

As the potatoes grew in the bins I have continued to add soil and compost to the top of the bins to allow the potato vines to root and produce more potatoes all the way to the top.  I initially purchased double the amount of seed potatoes needed with the original plan of harvesting the first crop early for new potatoes and then immediately replant with the already well sprouted seed potatoes I had stored in the garage.

Well all good plans get changed and after I pulled out the peas on top of my chicken coop roof top garden I decided to plant my second crop of potatoes there.

I planted multiple potato varieties including Yukon Gold, Purple Viking, Burbank Russett, Cal White, Red Pontiac and a couple of others I cannot recall the names off hand.  Here are some pictures of the sprouted seed potatoes.

To prepare the planting bed I took a four pronged hoe and loosened the soil.  I then placed the seed potatoes about a foot and a half apart and I buried them with mounds of almost finished compost from my third bin.

This unscreened material will do nicely and will continue to decompose and feed the potato plants.  I will continue to mound up the soil and compost as the potatoes continue to grow up.  It is essential that sunlight not reach the seed potatoes as it will cause a poisonous green layer on the potato.

I would have preferred to plant in bins for ease of harvest but I do not have any spare bins so the mound up method will work just fine.  The only draw back is when you harvest by digging you are bound to cut some of the potatoes with the pitch fork.  If this happens just clean then well and eat them that day.

I look forward to having a continuous harvest of potatoes until fall.  Nothing better than new potatoes and a few big bakers.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Gardening and composting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Second potato planting

  1. Marcela Montemurro says:

    just wondering why the potato plant are growing bigger this time around, are you doing something different?

    • I move the potatoes around the yard and they ended up in a good spot with lots of water and sun…..Oh and I used a whole bunch of finished compost which is the secret ingredient. I used much more than in the past.

Leave a Reply

