Espalier pear move


Last spring I purchased a dwarf pear tree that had four different types of pears grafted on the root stock.  I planted the tree close to the fence in my raspberry bed and it seemed to do well there.  I trellised the tree on wires similar to how I trellised the grapes in my last blog but I used metal t posts instead of wood posts.

Image

My neighbors undertook an amazing landscaping design change in their back yard which unfortunately for the pear included a couple of large pines right on the other side of the fence which would have inevitably took over the area and killed the pear tree.  I moved the pear this spring to avoid disaster and I traded places with a honeysuckle vine which did not survive the move. The pear on the other hand has done well in its new home.

Last Saturday I finally got around to moving the trellis wire from the original location to the new spot as the pear tree has growing fruit that are making the small limbs droop.  I pounded in two metal t posts and attached two sets of wires with the same type of wire connectors I used for the grapes minus the turnbuckle which is not really needed.

Image

I pounded the stakes into the ground with an outside lean angle as I anticipated the tension of the wire would pull the t posts close to straight up and down which is what happened.  I placed the wires approximately three inches above and behind each limb level and I used the velcro style plant ties to attach the tree limbs to the wire.

The job was simple and only took a half hour or so.

Image

I have a couple of raspberry volunteers under the tree which I need to relocate.  I should be picking the fruit off to allow all the energy to be focused on growth but I just can’t do it as I am craving the juicy fruit.

Image

I am also excited about the amount of fruit I have on my Asian pear.  I harvested a total of four pears last year and I have many more this year.

Image

I also have several peaches on my dwarf peach trees,

Image

My espalier and festooned apple trees are doing well but they did not flower this year which I guess is good for the growth but I was hoping to cheat a little and get a taste or two of a couple apples this year.  Oh well….I need to appreciate the bounty that I do have this year.

Tonight I enjoyed a plateful of just picked sweet peas.  They were delicious.

Image

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Espalier pear move

  1. Greeting from over the ocean. precise post I must return for more.

Leave a Reply

