Worm compost bin repair


Well I still haven’t found the time to get going on the grape trellis but I did finally get around today to mending my worm compost bin as the bottom had rotten away after five years of use.  These bins do not last forever but I figure I can get a few more years out of it by simply replacing the bottom with new plywood.  I started out by pulling out all of the worms, and bedding/food/compost from the bin.

Image

Next I measured and cut a new piece of plywood to fit the inside of the box and I drilled drainage holes to allow excess moisture to get out of the box.

Image

Next step was to fill the bottom of the box with shredded paper that I moistened well.

Image

I then screened out a pound of worms for a customer and delivered them.  I then put the remaining worms and old bedding/food back into the bin.

Image

Final step was to dump in a bag of leaves, moistened it well and I also placed some kitchen scraps on top.

I will leave the worms alone for a few months only adding food and making sure they stay moist.  They double their numbers about every 60 days so I should be back in business by fall.  I will also add worms to the bin when I screen them from my compost bins.  This will speed up the replenish process.

Quick and easy blog today.  I will end this blog with pictures of yesterdays broccoli meal,  a cilantro harvest and a couple pictures of my front yard.

Image

Image

ImageImage

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Gardening and composting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

