Getting ready for the market


I spent the morning finishing a three bin compost system for a friend. It turned out pretty nice.

Image

I built seven birdhouses from my cedar scraps and I painted a display board for the farmer’s market. I think the display turned out pretty well.  I am excited to get the Farmer’s market season rolling.  Yes I will straighten the birdhouses on the display as I forgot to do that before taking this picture.

Image

Tonight was my son’s baseball game.  They lost (only second loss of the season) and the kids were more distracted than interested in baseball.  Guess their summer attitude is here already.  After a good butt chewing from the coaches I hope they have their heads in the game tomorrow night.

I walked the yard and took some pictures that I think you will enjoy.

I will be documented the grape pruning and trellising process in the near future but I just haven’t been able to get to that project yet.  Here are some picture of how it looks now.

I am excited to see the peas are close to being ready and the potatoes are as tall as I have ever grown them.  The broccoli has been excellent also.   The pole beans are starting to come up and the fava beans are flowering.  The chickens are healthy and happy and they are enjoying all of the spring bounty and the nice weather.

Tomorrow I will continue to prepare for the market but I have a bin of compost ready to be screened that I plan to get to in the morning.

The bin is full of red worms and I need to repair my worm box so that I can replenish my stock.  I gave most of my worms to a friend who will be raising them for me in central Utah.  I need to screen a pound of worms for a customer who has been patiently waiting for me to get around to it.  Hopefully I will get that accomplished tomorrow also before I head off to work in the Junior High garden in the afternoon and a baseball game tomorrow night.  Life is busy but in a good way.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Gardening and composting, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Getting ready for the market

  1. Kim says:

    Scott, All I can say is Wow! You take some great photos! Your working hens are the luckiest hens in the valley with all that you offer them, and the wonderful hen house you have built for them. Aside from Zero’s scare tactics, those hens must be over the moon living on your property! It is a treat to live next door to you and see all your plantings, and the hard work that shows in all that you invest in in your secret garden both floral and vegetable! Kudos Sir!

    • Thanks so much Kim. It is great to have such great neighbors as your family. My yard is a little unruly lately but hopefully I will find some time to get it weeded and cleaned up a bit. Thanks again for your comments and your interest in my blog.

  2. Barbara Naiditch says:

    Hi Urbancompostsystems. I am interested in purchasing your photo of a chunk of redworms from your 5/31/12 entry for a middle school science textbook. Please let me know if you are interested. Thanks much.

Leave a Reply

