Memorial Day


I have been a little slow in the blog department as I have been getting ready for a much anticipated annual Memorial Day camping trip to Wyoming with friends.  Last year it snowed eight inches on us and this year the weather was cold…cold…..and cold.  It snowed some but the wind was the biggest issue.  Our activities were limited to sitting, playing poker, b.s.ing, eating, drinking, sleeping and repeating the process in varying order.  We had about ten kids along and they had a great time playing together so all was well in the world.

I came home to a lawn needing mowing so I took care of that this evening.  Took a quick look around the garden and I found the spinach and lettuce are ready for another harvest and there are two heads of broccoli ready to pick.  That will be tomorrow’s dinner menu.  I pulled up a few handfuls of radishes that had flowered which I fed to the chickens.  The rest of the week will be getting ready for the official opening of the Wheeler Farm Farmer’s Market this Sunday.  I will be a vendor there every other weekend  which should be a good time.  I have a couple of bins  that I need to finish this week as well as a few birdhouses.  A friend on the camping trip owns Mantle Magic and he brought up a lot of unique scrap wood to burn.   I laid claim to some interesting wood remnants that I will make into one of a kind birdhouses.

The Westlake garden is coming together as most of the seeds have germinated.  I will include a few photos today.

As we have a lull in the garden work until things start maturing I had the kids pulling weeds and watering last week.  It is fun to see the expressions on their faces when they see the seeds they planted come to life.  Even the complainers in the group, who are there doing community service for misbehavior, have been surprised by their own excitement over the garden progress.

In contemplating the topic for the next blog, I glanced at my multi-level grape trellis that needs to be pruned and trained so that seems like a good next subject unless something else perks my interest and gets me sidetracked.  Stay tuned.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

