Birdhouse fever


Well….I was in my garage the other day contemplating what to do with all the scrap cedar from my compost bins when I heard birds chirping and I got a wild hair to start building birdhouses.  I used to build quite a few and my yard is full of birdhouses filled with eggs and babies.   Here are a few photos of my old weathered birdhouses.

 

About six years ago I had a pair of northern flicker woodpeckers who started to peck on the siding and screens high up on my house.  I decided to build a woodpecker house and I mounted it about thirty feet up on the side of my house (I have a tall house).  The woodpeckers moved in and had babies in the nest.  I placed the house so that I can open the lid and view them from my bathroon window.  All was well for a couple of years as they returned to nest again.  Then came the starlings who drove them out of the house and the starlings returned to nest there ever since.

I have house finches and chickadees nesting in my other boxes.  They are fun to have around but they have the bad habit of eating my sweet peas leaving just the stems and they have nibbled one of two lettuce barrels.   I feed them all winter and provide them shelter and water with bird baths so I guess I have asked for the little bit of trouble they have given me.  All in all I like the sound of birds chirping and they help keep the bugs down also.  Here is a photo of some eggs in one of the houses.

Well back to building the birdhouses.  I went through all my scrap cedar and came up with twelve assorted birdhouses.   I started building, planning as I went along and even when a seemingly catastrophic mistake was made my imagination came up with a new design.

My mistakes usually lead to other unique ideas and now I have to get back to building compost bins to have the scraps to continue this endeavor.  I have some houses going to a cousin in Wyoming and a few friends have reserved a couple more.  The rest will go to the farmer’s market with me on June 3 if I have any left.  Here is my birdhouse city so far.

I am in the middle of replacing my son’s in ground trampoline.  The next blog will be about that adventure and all the landscaping and retaining wall building I have to do to fix the big hole in the ground.  Stay tuned.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birdhouse fever

  1. Kelly says:

    Just catching up on your blog. After getting The Good Cousin Discount I was even more intrigued than before! I am so proud of you and I think your next endeavor needs to be bee-keeping! It would fit right in to your newest adventure!

    • Thanks Kelly….I am glad you like the blog. I am finally doing what I like to do. So far so good. I will get the birdhouses in the mail soon……and the bee hive is in the garage but I did not get around to building it this year. As I have bought all the parts there are no more excuses for next year. ha Thanks for your support.

Leave a Reply

