Yard reclamation


As I have mentioned in previous blogs, I had two gophers move into my yard last summer and I was a little slow to address the problem which turned into a bigger problem as my dogs tore up all my flower beds and alot of the grass trying to get the gophers.  I have been making compost like mad so that I can get the yard fixed up and the soil healthy for replanting.  I was a little skeptical about how successful I would be this year but to my surprise the yard is coming back strong and the compost is really working as the flowers are abundant and the vegetables are growing fast.

I made a great salad last weekend with a mixture of baby lettuce from my whisky barrels, spinach, swiss chard, carrot tops, radishes and tops, cilantro, volunteer baby red onion bunches, chive flowers and french breakfast radishes.   I have some other greens mixed in with the lettuce which added some unique flavors.  I even had one head of broccoli to cut up and throw in as a bonus.

I have several boxwood bushes in the bottom of my yard that fit in nicely but I want to plant more bamboo and give more room to my espalier apples.   A buddy of mine has a need for bushes to cover up some utility boxes in his yard so we started to dig out the bushes thinking we could get all three done today.  As we dug and dug and huffed and puffed it took us over a half hour to dig one of them up.  We took the one bush over to his house and planted it using ten gallons of my finished compost.  We will tackle the other two bushes once we get rested up as neither of us are getting any younger.

I decided it was time to replace my son’s trampoline that I fell through last year.  I purchased a smaller version from Walmart so I will have to find some dirt to fill in the rest of the hole.  I have been pushing the compost process as I need to get all the leaves and worms out of the trampoline pit.  Hopefully I will get this project done in the near future.

I was able to finish planting the rest of my summer garden today.  All I have left is to plant are bush beans when my radishes are done in the next week or so.   We finished planting the school garden yesterday and just have some odds and ends to finish up tomorrow.

I walked the yard today and took some photos of the abundant flowers.  Hope you enjoy these.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yard reclamation

  1. Rhonda says:

    You got a great close-up of a bee too !!

Leave a Reply

