First Farmer’s Market


 

Well the much anticipated first Wheeler Farm Farmer’s Market is in the books.  I did not get much sleep Friday night as I have been looking forward to being a vendor at a market for several years but I never felt like I had the time to commit to the endeavor.   I spent most of Friday getting everything ready to go.  My friend brought the utility trailer Friday morning and he took my boat in exchange.  I loaded the three bins, painted my sign and built a few more compost screens to take to the market.  I ran a few errands and by Friday night I felt like I had prepared for everything.  I had a few glitches in the morning though.

I got up early and was ready to tie down the bins but I could not figure out how to loosen the new tie downs I had just purchased (no instructions in the box).  I figured out how to tighten them but I did not want to get to the market and not be able to get them untied so I went with my old tried and true bungie chords.  I used every bungie that I own and felt pretty confident that I could make it the seven miles or so to the market.  I did not make it around the corner when the first bungies shot off.  I had to stop three times but I made it with all the bins intact.  I was able to find and pull right up to my vendor spot and I quickly unloaded the bins and parked the truck and trailer.  My help decided to sleep in so I was on my own to unload and set up.

The set up went well but I found out the ground was hard as a rock and I could not get my sign post into the ground.  I ended up propping it up with my worm bins and a bucket of compost that I brought to demo.  My help showed up shortly after (with the tie downs) and they had a full day of hanging out at the market.  My seven year old son Mateo kept asking me for money while I was talking to potential customers so to shut him up I gave in several times.  I think he got me for about thirty bucks.  He came back with face paint, two lemonades, two snow cones, a wrist band for the kid area and I think he padded his college fund.  Oh well, it kept him busy.

I met alot of nice people and talked compost, bins, screens and worms all day.  The kids had a good time seeing the redworms and I believe I have several people interested in purchasing bins.  I will be following up on the email list that people signed for more information.

The world is indeed small.  The guy in the next booth has a girlfriend who was in my intro to criminology class that ended last week.  Good to make a new friend as he helped me load the bins back on the trailer at the end of the day.

All in all the market was what I expected it to be.  I am looking forward to the start of the Farmer’s Market season at Wheeler Farm on June 3.  Hope you come and visit.  It’s such a nice venue to hang out on the farm.  I appreciate my good friend London who showed up to visit with his two girls.  He is a recent compost convert as he has a three bin that he is excited about.  He is also smart enough to know how to use the tie downs.  Thank god for friends as I made it home with no unexpected delays with the bins firmly tied down.

I think I like this retired stuff.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

