Westlake garden finally has plants.


Today was the first planting day at the new Westlake school/community garden.  I started the day purchasing tomatoes, hot peppers, green and other color peppers, egg plant, tomatillos, strawberries, squash, pumpkins, gourdes, leeks, white onions, honeydew melon, popcorn and rhubarb.  I also purchased a variety of seed packets including radishes, carrots, lettuce, spinach, cilantro, and beets.   I purchased the plants and seeds from the nice people at Okubo’s Greenhouses located at 2055 West and 8660 South in West Jordan.  The staff there are very helpful and they have a great selection.  A special thanks to the owners who donated  a flat of strawberries and  leeks for the garden.

After purchasing the plants I rushed back to the school to get set up for the students to help plant in the afternoon.  We had a great time and got everything planted that was purchased minus some seeds and onion sets.  I have to track down some yellow and red onion sets tomorrow along with a few odds and ends that Okubo’s has sold out of.  I will be making the bamboo teepees for the pole beans tomorrow after my visit to IFA to pick up the odds and ends.  I will be making a trip to HomeDepot in the near future to purchase six apple trees that will be espalier trees.  The trees are around $20 a piece so not a bad price.

I purchased most of what I needed and was under budget so the prinicipal, Ike Spencer is happy with me.  All in all today was a great day.  The students will be planting the rest of the garden this Wednesday afternoon.  Then on to getting the compost bins completed to start composting all that grass that I pulled up to create the garden.

Good news.  I have been accepted to the Wheeler Farm Farmer’s market on Sundays.  I am not sure if I am automatically in or if I am on a waiting list.  Will see tomorrow.  That should be a fun way to spend the summer talking to people about composting and gardening while hanging out with like minded people.

Here are some pictures of the garden progess made today.  The plants are so small the pictures don’t do them justice at this point but you will have to trust me that in person they look marvelous.

 

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

