worms, bins, pole beans, and flowers


Today was a full day in the garden.  I started the day screening a half pound of worms for a customer using my compost screen.  I was able to get about five pounds of worm castings from my worm box which I placed around my fruit trees.

I mowed the lawn and made several layers of leaves and grass clippings in my first compost bin.  I will have the bin filled by next weekend and then I will turn it to the second bin.

The family took a trip to the nursery to buy flowers to replace the ones the dog tore out trying to get the gophers last fall.  Spent a lot of money and still only made a dent in what I need to replace.  The yard is looking much better though and I didn’t think I would ever say this but I am starting to like the damn dog.  Guess I will keep it.

The chickens and I grazed the garden today.  They started to eat my radishes through the fence so I joined them for a dozen or so.  They are very sweet and not hot when young.

I built my pole bean teepee made of bamboo zip tyed together and I ran string around the canes for the beans to grow up on.  I do this every year and it is a fun project.  I placed the teepee by the patio and it will provide privacy when the beans grow up the teepee.

 

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

