Radish and carrot thinning issues


Today I checked out my garden progress and found a few small radishes to sample before the whole crop is ready to pick in the next week or so. Radishes are always the first of the garden bounty.  I forgot that I mixed radish seed and carrot seed in a pack of old seed that I planted earlier in the month and to my surprise I had both growing in the same rows.  This was by design last year as I have a problem thinning my carrots.  I hate to pull perfectly good veggies even though they are growing too close together.  I always end up with a lot of smaller vegetables due to my lack of thinning.  Every year I tell myself I am going to thin but I rarely do.  Mixing the radish and lettuce seeds is a great idea for natural thinning without wasting anything.  As the radishes are done well before the carrots, by picking the radishes you are naturally thinning the carrot rows.  This should help my carrot success.  My favorite radish variety is french breakfast but I usually plant three or four other varieties.

I checked the asparagus bed that I planted and blogged about earlier in the month and to my surprise I had one spear that has turned into a small fern and I have several other spears just emerging out of the bed.  Asparagus has to be allowed to grow without harvest for the first two to three years to allow for the roots to get established so this is only the beginning of good things to come.

Yesterday I thinned the bamboo and I will use the cuttings for my pole bean teepees and to support smaller plants who need a little help staying upright such as eggplant and bell peppers.  Bamboo costs around three dollars for six-five foot stakes so a person can save  money growing and using your own bamboo and its nice to just cut what you need rather than having to make a trip to the store.

I sold three compost bins this weekend so the weather is helping my business.  I have been fortunate to meet a lot of really nice people who share my interest in gardening.   I spent most of today building a three bin system as I am close to being out of inventory.  I have a lot more building to do this week.

I meet with a group of kids from the junior high school tomorrow who will be attending the afterschool and summer programs.  They will be planting the garden in the next week or so and hopefully I will have my plant and equipment budget approved tomorrow.  I will be planting my summer vegetables next weekend and I will be buying quite a few perennials to replace the damage the dog did to my yard trying to get the two gophers that called my yard home.  The dogs were unsuccessful but all that I can say is I hope those gophers rest in peace (did I mention I am now a professional gopher assassin).

I will be replacing the trampoline that I fell through last year so I need to move my leaf storage.  I figure buying a new trampoline is cheaper than going to Airbourne every weekend.   Always a project but that is what keeps me young (I like to think so anyway).

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Gardening and composting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

