Home and school garden progress


This has been a very busy week for me with teaching school and working on the junior high garden.  I have spent the week pricing materials and putting together the master plan on what we are going to plant, how much of each vegetable and the overall garden design.  I am going to go with a garden room concept.  The front fence of the garden will be shrouded with climbing cucumbers on one side and either indian or popcorn on the other side.  As you enter the garden there will be a flower display with pole beans on each side of the entrance bed.  I will shroud the working area of the garden with multiple pole beans.  The beds and border will be filled with many different types of vegetables.  I will submit the proposed budget to our principal today and hope he approves what I have requested.  This garden is his vision so I think I won’t have to do much arm twisting.  Our goal is to grow as much as we can to share with the local community.  We are currently in the process of selecting the students for the afterschool and then summer gardening program.  I am looking forward to teaching the kids the urban gardening/self sufficiency concepts that I so strongly believe in.

I finally had a few minutes today to slow my life down and walk the garden, interact with the chickens and take quite a few pictures to share with you.   I was excited to see the progress of the radishes (another week or so before harvest), the potatoes have poked their sprouts out of the soil and many plants have doubled in growth and flowers are starting to be abundant.

The fruit trees are leafing out nicely and my grapes on the trellis have come to life.  The sweet smell of lilacs fill the air.  I have yet to do much weeding and it is time to get going on that project.  Feeding the weeds to the chickens makes the job a little more rewarding.  Hope you enjoy the pictures.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

