Tomorrow is D day for the Westlake Garden


Well it has been a busy week at the Westlake Garden.  The weather kept delaying the final tilling and I was a little concerned when I woke up to rain again yesterday but with the Comcast Day of service coming on Saturday I had to get it done.  We rented a tiller from a local company and I set out on taking care of the rest of the grass that grew back.  After all the heavy moving of sod it was quite disheartening to see the grass growing back in pretty thick.  In this photo you can see the line where I got to before destroying my tiller and what I had to tackle.

As I did not do that great of a job with my small tiller I went over the whole garden three times.  The tiller was pretty powerful and I spent the day trying to hold it back.  My hands are pretty tough but I still suffered a few blisters and my shoulders are a little tight.  Good exercise as I can start to see where my biceps used to be.  I finished staking the border in place and I feel good that I met my deadlines with a day to spare (day off today).

Tomorrow will be an early morning.  I will get to the school around 7:00 a.m. to make sure things are in order.  We should have around 50 to 100 volunteers to help build the pre-cut garden boxes, fill them with dirt and compost and put in a bark path.  It will transform into a garden in just a few hours.  Shop classes are in the process of designing and building a storage shed and they will also be building compost bins.  I need to get going on getting all that grass composted.

I will hold off planting for a week due to the continued chance of a late frost (for the summer vegetables) and I have to get a good visual and plan on what we want to grow and how much of each veggie and fruit.  That will be the fun part.  We will be getting the afterschool gardening program going asap and we will identify the kids to be involved in the near future.  Pretty exciting stuff.   I will include the pre-garden photos and tomorrow I will blog about the day and show you how it turned out.  Stay tuned.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

