Rained out today


Today was supposed to be till the rest of the garden day at Westlake Jr.  I worked on the border edge yesterday, between teaching college classes, and the weather was sunny with a nice cool breeze.  I woke up to rain today and had to reschedule the tiller for Thursday.  As the big day to put the garden together is Saturday, we are getting close to crunch time.  I have not felt any pressure up to this point with this project but the next few days will be a little stressful but exciting also.

Having an unexpected day off today I will catch up on some teaching preparation as midterm exams are this week.  I also need to build a couple of compost bins as sales are picking up with the change in weather.  With all the rain my garden is progressing nicely.  The barrel lettuce is filling in, the peas are about three inches tall now, the broccoli, cauliflower and cabbage are about seven inches tall and filling out and the beets, carrots and other veggies planted from seed have sprouted.

The potatoes have yet to peak out of the potato bins but I dug one to check the progress and the potatoes are sprouting nicely.  The seed potatoes I have stored in a paper bag in the garage are also sprouting and they will be perfect for planting after I harvest the first batch of early potatoes.

I have gone through a lot of leaves from my in ground trampole pit in my composting process.  I have this pit to utilize as I fell through it last year jumping with my son.  Kind of surprising when you are jumping one minute and standing on the ground the next.  Guess its time to lose a little weight.  I have loose leaves as well as bagged leaves in the pit and they are full of redworms.  Problem is trying to separate the redworms from the leaves.  I have learned that it is easier to pick them out of the compost bins as they tend to come closer to the surface of the bins than trying to hand pick them out of the leaves.  Good news is that my exhausted supply of worms from sales has been replenished and I should be back in the worm business soon.

Hope to catch up on a little rest today.  Being retired is a lot of hard work.  I am excited to share the school garden progress this weekend and the empty space will transform into a garden in four hours with the help of Comcast and many volunteers.  A big thanks to all who will be helping with this project in advance!

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rained out today

  1. Anna says:

    Scott, great to talk to you today about compost and worms! Good luck with your project at the school! We’re kindred school gardening spirits!

Leave a Reply

