The value of having bamboo in your yard


About four years ago I bought a container of bamboo from a nursery and I planted it with the hope it would provide some privacy screening.  I read up on different types of bamboo, as all spread to an extent, but some send out shoots that will end up far from the main plant (neighbors yard).  I purchased a thin leaf variety and waited in anticipation for it to grow up and spread.  The first year it grew a little taller but did not spread. The second year it sent up a few shoots but was not a real gangbuster on growth.  In the third year I started finding shoots out in the lawn and the canes started to thicken up nicely.  This year it has tripled in size and heighth.

Besides providing privacy….finally…..thinning the bamboo provides all the plant stakes that I need in my yard.  I trim the bamboo to eliminate the thin flexible upper portion and I zip tie three bamboo canes together to make one leg of my four leg pole bean teepee.  I also use them to stake peppers, fava beans, eggplant and anything else that needs a little support.  In trying to be self sufficient it is nice to have some raw materials from the garden that are very useful and bamboo fits this need.

As you can see in the photos……it is time to thin the bamboo again as it is a little out of hand.  I think I will dig out a few bunches and plant them elsewhere in the yard…….as I have a couple of years before they go crazy.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Gardening and composting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The value of having bamboo in your yard

  1. Geri Miller-Fox says:

    Great tip – – – you mention that is spreads – – – is it easy to pull out??

    • Thanks Geri, you can just take a shovel and chop the roots out. It is not hard work but it is interesting where the shoots pop up. If you buy bamboo make sure you don’t buy the most invasive varieties as they can shoot up a long distance from the main clump.

Leave a Reply

