Tiller trouble


Well the last couple of days I have been working hard on the Westlake garden project.   The Comcast day of service is on 04/21 so we have about a week to get ready.  I brought my small tiller from home to try and tackle too big a job.  As it had not rained until today the ground was like concrete.  The sod cutters did not get the roots so the grass is again growing back everywhere.  My efforts to get the remaining grass tilled up were halfway successful before the tiller broke down on me today.  We have to rent a bigger tiller to get the rest of the job done and with the rain today the ground should be much easier to till.

The school turned on the water to the garden today.  I have two faucets in the garden area (on the north and south sides).   The wall block for the entrance display and the 1×6 cedar edging were delivered today along with the 2×10 wood for the planting boxes.  The shop teacher is going to pre-cut the wood for the boxes and his students are going to build the shed and the compost bins.  As I made some modifications to the garden design we need to remeasure the dimensions for the garden boxes to make sure they will fit.

After the tiller broke down I used the rest of the afternoon to build the front display and I started to place the 1×6 edging.  It should not take too long to finish that project.  I feel confident that we will be ready to roll on 04/21.  It will be a little early to plant the summer vegetables so I will probably just buy flowers for the front display to plant on the day of service.  A week or so later we will plant the summer veggies.

Todays photos are of the progress to date.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tiller trouble

  1. Kim says:

    Great job Scott! I can tell you have put tons of planning into this garden, not to mention muscle, sweat, and undoubtedly a few choice words! Nice job! I hope all appreciate your vast knowledge, skill and work ethic into this wonderful school project!

Leave a Reply

