Westlake Garden Progress


Well…….I learned this week that the only thing better than moving a lot of sod once is doing it twice as I did not have the fencing material when I ripped up the sod. Eleven hours this week of hell.  Glad the hard part is over with and now I just need to have the garden tilled.   Believe it or not I will most likely compost most of this material this year.  We are putting in a six bin compost system that the students are building.  Same design as my bins and a great shop project for them.

I cut out all the grass next to the fence line and next week I will install 1×6 cedar edging all along the perimeter beds.  Comcast’s day of service is on 04/21 and we will have a couple hundred volunteers at the school to help us assemble the garden boxes and fill them with soil and compost.  It will be nice to have that much help and the garden will appear in just four hours.  Pretty exciting stuff as we will be ready to plant the summer veggies that day.

I have sold a lot of redworms this week with two more orders for Saturday so tomorrow I will be turning and screening the compost bins to find a couple of pounds of worms.

I think I need to slow down on the sales as the worm supply is getting low.  I fell through our in ground trampoline last year and I filled the large hole with all the leaves I could find last fall and I put all my redworms in with the leaves to overwinter.  I probably have a ton of worms in there but I will need to check it out tomorrow to see if I am still in the worm business or not.

I am going to hang out in the yard all day tomorrow……It has been awhile since I had the chickens out to run around.  I have included a few spring pictures.  Hope you enjoy.

 

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

