Horseradish from home


Sorry I have not been able to blog for a few days.  I have been busy with my teaching job and I have been ripping up sod at the Junior High.  I have filled three six foot tall bins six feet across with still more grass to deal with.  I am exhausted today but having fun doing it.  As I have not had much time to work on my garden I thought I would pick a topic today that is pretty short and sweet.  I don’t think sweet is the right word, maybe hot or spicy?  The effects of horseradish are different from any other type of spice or substance that I can think of.  Nothing can clear your sinuses faster than a strong bite of horseradish which is the active ingredient in wasabi.

Horseradish is a root crop and it is simple to grow.  In fact it spreads rapidly and becomes somewhat of a nuisance but is easy to dig out.  If you miss a piece of root though you will have another plant come up.  All you need to do to plant horseradish is go screen another five gallon bucket of compost from your bins (or buy at the store) and dig a trench about eight inches deep.  Place the horseradish root start in the trench with the compost/soil mix and fill in the hole and water.  In no time you will see top growth but the roots will not get very thick until the plants are a couple of years old. You can harvest the first year in the fall for some smaller roots. To harvest you just dig up the amount of root you want leaving some to grow back next year.

To use the horseradish you simply grate it with a cheese grater and mix in some vinegar and whatever other home recipes you have.  Horseradish goes great with any red meat.  It also freezes well after grating.

I took a quick look around the yard today and everything seems to be doing well.  The peas are about three inches tall and the lettuce is germinating and growing.  The apple trees are starting to leaf out but they are behind the other fruit trees in flowering.  The radishes are about halfway to harvest.  They are the first taste of a spring garden so looking forward to that.  Hopefully this weekend I can get outside and figure out my next project to blog about.  May be as boring as weeding as I know that should be a priority………..for another day.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Gardening and composting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

