Westlake Junior High garden


I mentioned in an earlier blog that I am in the process, along with several teachers and the principal, of creating a school garden at Westlake Junior High.  We have been planning for months and now the fence is up and the 60′ x 60′ garden is under construction.  Yesterday I stopped by to check on the progress of the fence and found it completed with gates installed and the sod was cut and left in place.  I spent three hours moving about two thirds of the sod to the corner of the garden where the compost bins will eventually be placed.  I put one load of grass in the back of my truck to take home for an early spring nitrogen source for my compost bin.  I will finish moving the sod on Monday.

Comcast is having their day of service at Westlake on April 21st and several hundred volunteers will be at the school to help us put in the garden infrastructure and other school related projects.  I need to get the place ready for the construction and the volunteers will help build the grow boxes and fill them with soil and compost that will be trucked in.  We will be using shredded bark for the pathways between the grow boxes.  This is going to be a great project and we hope to expand the original school garden into a community garden as there is a lot of grass doing a whole lot of nothing behind the garden.  Stay tuned for updates on the garden progress.

I decided to play basketball after the sod moving and today has been a little on the stiff and sore side but I was able to use the sod I brought home, along with four bags of leaves to finish filling the left compost bin of my four bin system,  I will let it cook for a week or so then flip it into the empty bin next to it and start another pile.  I only have one and a quarter bins with close to finished compost so I need to get aggressive with composting as I will be needing a lot by May.  I have a lot of work to do to repair the damage that the dog did to my yard.  Spreading a nice layer of dark crumbly compost makes everything look better.

Hope everyone has hit the nurseries at least once so far.  I love this time of year.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

