Spring flowers


Well its the middle of the work week and I have not had alot of time to garden.  Today it seems I have spent the whole day driving as I took the boy to school, my stepson and uncle to the airport, my wife to meet a client and then back downtown this evening for a meeting.  I did have a few minutes to photograph some spring flowering plants that I will share.

 

Between my driving trips I built a three bin compost system and I can almost call myself a professional builder as I have worked out most of the bugs in the bin building process.  Not to get too cocky but today’s bin is a work of art.  ha.

The magnetic business signs for my truck were finally done and I picked them up today.  They turned out pretty good I think.

I turned off the chicken coop light today as the days are long enough now to keep the chickens laying regularly and the heated water base is no longer needed.  Due to the busy week the chickens don’t get out of the pen until the weekends.  Daily I feed them chicken scratch and some oyster shells for calcium which I toss in the pen for them to peck through.  I also give them any vegetable scraps and stale bread.  They love the treats.

On this rainy evening I hope the flower pictures make you think of spring.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Gardening and composting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

