Stormy Monday


Today started with a big gust of wind and a lot of damage in the area.  Luckily nothing of mine blew away (that I know about yet).  I took the opportunity to build a new single compost bin.  Single bins are not ideal if a person wants a lot of compost but it is perfect for people who only want to compost their kitchen scraps and a little yard waste.  Looks much better than the black plastic bins they sell at the home improvement stores.

The Magnolia tree in my front yard is in bloom along with a Christmas flower that I have screwed up the timing of the bloom.  I have to say this is the biggest bulb I have ever had flower.  You be the judge if it is the biggest you have seen.

I had a full night of watching my son at tae kwan do and a little first grade spelling and reading.  Tomorrow I start an exciting project that I will be blogging about in a lot more detail.  I am creating a school garden at a local junior high school.  The fence should be up soon and I will be busy cutting out the grass and getting ready to put in raised beds.  We hope the garden will lead to a community garden concept in the near future.  It is also finals week at the college where I teach so I will be busy.

Thanks for reading the blog.  I would appreciate any feedback you can give me and any gardening topics you would like me to discuss in future blogs.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stormy Monday

  1. Kim says:

    Did you notice the strong skunk smell last night? I hope your dogs or chickens did not get sprayed! Love reading your blog btw!

    • I didn’t smell the skunk. The dogs don’t smell any worse then they usually do. I’m glad you are liking the blog. It has been fun learning how to do that blogging stuff. I’ve got a long ways to go to perfect the process. Thanks

Leave a Reply

