Lettuce and cilantro planting.


Today started out with dropping the boy off at school, a quick trip to Home Depot and then breakfast with a couple of buddies.  Today was also lettuce planting day.  I plant my lettuce mix in whickey barrels which keeps most of the bugs out when I harvest.   I scatter a mix of different lettuce and arugula seed in the barrels and then cover the seed with a 1/4 inch of soil and water carefully to avoid washing all the seed together.  I like to plant this way as it comes up as a mixed salad and I just have to take scissors and cut a salad (don’t pull as it grows back).  I always soak my lettuce in the sink for a few minutes after harvest so any bugs that do come with the lettuce swim away or drown.

I also planted cilantro the same way by scattering seed in a barrel.  Cilantro is somewhat finicky stuff but I usually get a good crop in the spring and then I let some of it go to seed which I collect, dry and replant in the barrel for a fairly decent late summer to fall harvest.  Cilantro freezes well so all you have to do is wash it thoroughly, pat it as dry as you can and then put it in freezer bags.

My spring peas are starting to come up.  The finches and chickadees love to eat the early pea shoots so I need to cover them with bird netting soon or all I will have are stems with no leaves.  The radishes and spinach are showing their first leaves and the onion sets are starting to sprout.  I also planted a few broccoli plants and went to the nursury in the late afternoon to buy cauliflower but like always I get there five minutes after closing.

Today I also screened some compost, replenished worms from the compost bins to my worm box and spread some grass seed in areas of the lawn the dogs have worn out.  I have been trying to leave space to plant summer vegetables in between the spring veggies to maximize the use of my garden beds.  I planted the broccoli in between my tomato cages as the broccoli will be done in close proximity to the time I plant the tomatoes.

I ended the work day by loading my truck with a three bin compost system that I am delivering to Highland tomorrow morning along with a compost screen and a pound of worms.  I also managed to squeeze in a couple hours of full contact basketball with a group of buddies who have played together for twenty years.  On the way home I stopped by a neighbor to give them some eggs and received some constructive feedback about this blog.  Hope I am doing okay.

All in all today was a great day.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Gardening and composting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

