Windy Saturday


This morning I finished screening a pound of redworms. I opened up my outside wood worm bin and the worms not only survived the winter but they are fat and happy.  Ran them and a compost screen over to a customer and had a great time talking gardening and chicken ideas.

Went over to IFA and the baby chicks are in.  I raised five chicks last year who are all doing great and they get along well with my other chickens.  I am lucky that I have a calm and friendly coop.

The seed potatoes are in and I bought eight different varieties.  I am planning on doing things a little differently this year.  I bought twice as much as I need right away.  I am going to plant half and place the rest in a cool dark place to start to sprout.  I am going to harvest the first crop early for small new potatoes and then immediately replant for the fall.  I don’t cut up my seed potatoes.  I tend to buy the smaller potatoes and plant them whole (less chance of rotting).  I will put two seed potatoes in each bin and then build the soil/compost up as the plants grow throughout the spring/early summer.  Hopefully I will get a lot more potatoes for the same amount of space used.

As always I have overplanted the spring vegetables and have not left much room to plant the summer vegetables (before the spring ones are pulled out).  I will have to get creative (and take up more yard), to accomodate the squash and pumpkins.  Don’t tell my wife….ha.

The chickens have got me thinking…….that the next blog should be about them.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Windy Saturday

  1. Marcela says:

    Hello. Any suggestions on sweet patatos. I grew them for the first time, they got fairly big but did get not had the sweetness. Any idea why?

  2. Lindsay says:

    I like your blog! Will check it often. Hey, can I link it to my own for easy access?

Leave a Reply

