Spring planting


   

Last weekend the weather finally cooperated to get going on the spring planting.  I usually have the peas planted in late February but I finally got around to it Saturday.  I turned three bins of compost and screened out about 60 gallons of compost which I placed in my potato bins.  I let my eight chickens out in the yard to help me turn the compost and eat the abundant redworms in the bins.  I have to gently move the birds frequently as they are right on top of the bins feasting.

I have an Alaskan Husky that I have adopted when my stepson moved home with the dog and he moved out without him.  He is a good dog but early on he got one of the chickens so now I put him on a chain where I can keep an eye on him when the chickens are out and about.  I also have an old terrier who is nearly blind but still loves to run the fence and bark at everyone walking by.  I take some sick pleasure in watching the dogs lay in ambush until people get  close and every once in awhile they get a little shriek from the young (and old people).  I don’t like to say old as I am getting to that point myself.

The garlic I planted last fall is about six inches tall.  I planted radishes, beets, carrots, kohlrabi, turnips, parsnips, fava beans, peas, spinach, broccoli and cabbage.  The nursery did not have the seed potatoes or cauliflower yet.  I will plant a lettuce mix in whisky barrels this weekend along with cilantro.  I like to dense plant in barrels as it keeps the bugs out.  I just use scissors to mow the lettuce for great salads.

We had road construction last fall and what I thought were moles started piling up dirt from their tunnels.  I took too long to address the issue and the dogs pretty much tore up my flower beds in pursuit of the rodents.  I did a little research and set some traps and caught three Northern Pocket Gophers.  I think I got them all.  I have come up with a great system to trap these critters while at the same time protecting pets and children from possibly getting injured by the traps.

I am looking forward to finishing the planting so I can get the rest of the yard cleaned up.  Also the dog ate a sprinkler head or two.  Still need to assess the damage.  At least I can fill all the holes in the flower beds with my compost.  Got to keep thinking positive.  Anyone want a dog cheap.

I

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

