Urban Composting


Today is my first foray into the world of blogging.  I am an avid gardener who greatly enjoys helping others make the most out of their yard space.  Over the past eight years or so I have been transforming my yard into a thing of beauty in the front yard and a vegetable grocery aisle in the backyard.  My wife has been regularly concerned every time I take out a nice piece of green grass and exchange it for a garden bed.  To appease her I put a flower here and there to keep her ingnorant of my plan to take over the whole backyard in vegetables.  While transforming my yard I spent alot of money on compost material while I was throwing away alot of organic matter that could have done the job and saved me alot of money.  When I read the back of the compost bags from the store I learned that they contain little in the way of nutrition for the plants.  I also learned that most of the compost comes from anti-biotic laden feed lots.  My neighbor bought some great looking compost from one of the city dumps but he told me it was made from ground up christmas trees and treated human sewage.  I was not alarmed about using this type of material in the front yard but I did not want to use that type of material in my vegetable garden.  I had previously owned chickens and I have kept a worm box for my kitchen scraps for years, so I began thinking about how to fully maximize the composting process in my backyard to make all the compost that I need in my yard.  I built a three bin (now four bin) wood compost system and started the process.  I also built a chicken coop and added redworms to my compost bins once they cooled off.  I conducted alot of research and became quite efficient in making great compost but I did not have enough raw materials to make enough for my entire yard.  That first fall I collected all the leaves I could find to stockpile for the next season’s composting.  That next year I made hundreds of gallons of compost and have done so ever since.  The chicken manure and worm casting add the necessary fertility to my compost. I have also started a compost bin business as you can see in my pictures.  The single bins that the stores sell do not do the job.  A multi-bin system is necessary to be able to flip the materials to aerate and mix.  With a single bin you have to add new material to old so how is it ever done and how can you separate the finished compost from the new materials?  Filling a bin and then flipping it to the next bin allows you to add new stuff to the first bin until full.  Then keep flipping.  In about two months you have compost ready to screen for the yard.  I hope with this blog to share my gardening experiences and hopefully motivate others to do the same.

About urbancompostsystems

I am a retired law enforcement officer who is an avid gardener. I have a compost bin business named Urban Compost Systems. I believe strongly in the concept of growing healthy food and I utilize chickens and redworms in my "compost system". The only ingredients that I need from outside my system are leaves in the fall and some supplemental grass clippings from neighbors. I make hundreds of gallons of compost in my four bin system. I thoroughly enjoy the summer bounty I get from my yard and I take great pride in knowing that I am using my yardwaste to make healthy compost for my yard.
This entry was posted in Gardening and composting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Urban Composting

  1. lula baldomar says:

    Scott, I love your blog nice work!!

Leave a Reply

